Login | Register
My pages Projects Community openCollabNet

Discussions > users > Re: Reverting may delete files

Project highlights: :. Download .: :. Support .: :. FAQ .: :. Translations .: :. Donate .: :. Report Bug .:

tortoisesvn
Discussion topic

Back to topic list

Re: Reverting may delete files

Author "Simon Large" <simon dot tortoisesvn at googlemail dot com>
Full name "Simon Large" <simon dot tortoisesvn at googlemail dot com>
Date 2009-01-05 05:08:23 PST
Message 2009/1/5 Jan Normann Nielsen <spam at dubbekarl dot dk>:
> On Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 06:33, Jan Normann Nielsen <spam at dubbekarl dot dk> wrote:
>>> If you can't give an exact reproduction recipe, the developers can't
>>> research the "bug". "Full reproduction recipe" includes telling us
>>> what version of TSVN you're using, and your OS.
>>>
>>
>> 1) Ensure "use recycle bin when reverting" is selected
>> 2) Select an unversioned file and a modified file from the check for
>> modifications dialogue, select "revert".
>> Both files are sent to the recycle bin. The modified file is "restored"
>> by the revert, the other is "lost".
>>
>> WinXP SP3. I'm running a nightly build from trunk. (updated this morning)
>>
>>
>>> Revert should be done by the Subversion libraries, meaning that if
>>> this were a true bug, it would have been seen/found by someone by now
>>> and fixed.
>>>
>>
>> I think use of the recycle bin when reverting and resolving is unique to
>> TSVN.
>>
> I'm sorry for the misunderstanding. Dave has already cleared it up.
>
> To sum everything up, TSVN's handling of unversioned files is confusing.
> If you right-click an unversioned file in Explorer, you cannot revert
> it. If you choose "check for modifications" on a folder with an
> unversioned file in it, you cannot choose "revert" if you right-click
> the file. If you select multiple files including unversioned items and
> right-click, you can choose "revert", but the unversioned items are
> deleted. I think TSVN should just ignore the unversioned files (i.e. not
> delete them). This would make TSVN consistent with the command-line
> client which will skip unversioned items if they are the target of a
> revert operation.

1.4.x does indeed ignore unversioned items during revert, so this
would be a regression in 1.5.x

Simon

--
: ___
: oo // \\ "De Chelonian Mobile"
: (_,\/ \_/ \ TortoiseSVN
: \ \_/_\_/> The coolest Interface to (Sub)Version Control
: /_/ \_\ http://tortoisesvn.net

« Previous message in topic | 5 of 7 | Next message in topic »

Messages

Show all messages in topic

Reverting may delete files Jan Normann Nielsen <spam at dubbekarl dot dk> Jan Normann Nielsen <spam at dubbekarl dot dk> 2009-01-05 03:33:13 PST
     Re: Reverting may delete files "Andy Levy" <andy dot levy at gmail dot com> "Andy Levy" <andy dot levy at gmail dot com> 2009-01-05 04:22:17 PST
         Re: Reverting may delete files Dave Lawrence <dlawrence at ad-holdings dot co dot uk> Dave Lawrence <dlawrence at ad-holdings dot co dot uk> 2009-01-05 04:42:20 PST
             Re: Reverting may delete files Jan Normann Nielsen <spam at dubbekarl dot dk> Jan Normann Nielsen <spam at dubbekarl dot dk> 2009-01-05 05:02:23 PST
                 Re: Reverting may delete files "Simon Large" <simon dot tortoisesvn at googlemail dot com> "Simon Large" <simon dot tortoisesvn at googlemail dot com> 2009-01-05 05:08:23 PST
                     Re: Reverting may delete files Dave Lawrence <dlawrence at ad-holdings dot co dot uk> Dave Lawrence <dlawrence at ad-holdings dot co dot uk> 2009-01-05 06:14:21 PST
     Re: Reverting may delete files steveking Stefan Küng 2009-01-05 09:43:21 PST
Messages per page: