Login | Register
My pages Projects Community openCollabNet

Discussions > users > After a merge some files are (erroneously?) shown as modifed

Project highlights: :. Download .: :. Support .: :. FAQ .: :. Translations .: :. Donate .: :. Report Bug .:

tortoisesvn
Discussion topic

Hide all messages in topic

All messages in topic

RE: After a merge some files are (erroneously?) shown as modifed

Author webpost at tigris dot org
Full name webpost at tigris dot org
Date 2009-04-03 11:19:19 PDT
Message As suggested I'm planning on removing all of the svn:mergeinfo properties in my working copy that I believe were added in prevision revisions due to renames.

RE: Re: After a merge some files are (erroneously?) shown as modifed

Author blackhole at collab dot net
Full name blackhole at collab dot net
Date 2009-02-25 14:02:05 PST
Message > In 1.5.0-1.5.4 clients, when you do a repo-to-repo copy (and therefore,
> also when you do a rename) it will generate an svn:mergeinfo property on
> the affected file. Versions 1.5.5 and later are smarter about not
> including the mergeinfo if it isn't needed.
>
> -Mike

The branch was created using TSVN 1.5.7 or 1.5.8 (both linked to SVN 1.5.5).

But the svn:mergeinfo is not created during the copy, it is created when I merge trunk into the branch. This happens with TSVN 1.5.8 and a daily build linked to SVN 1.6 (or the current trunk).

RE: After a merge some files are (erroneously?) shown as modifed

Author blackhole at collab dot net
Full name blackhole at collab dot net
Date 2009-02-25 13:48:44 PST
Message > Yea, I think this is a known issue. I thought it was fixed in the 1.5.5
> svn libraries... but maybe not. Are you running with a 1.5.5 linked
> version of TSVN?
>

The branch was created with either TSVN 1.5.7 or 1.5.8 (both linked to SVN 1.5.5).

I did the merge with both TSVN 1.5.8 and a daily build (some days ago). The merge produced the same result with both versions.

RE: After a merge some files are (erroneously?) shown as modifed

Author pilotbob
Full name Bob Archer
Date 2009-02-25 12:54:30 PST
Message > > My question, do these properties show on the files in the WC of
trunk or
> > not?
> >
>
> No, the files do not have any properties in trunk (except
svn:mime-type).
> As I wrote, the file have never been modified after they were added to
the
> repository.

Yea, I think this is a known issue. I thought it was fixed in the 1.5.5
svn libraries... but maybe not. Are you running with a 1.5.5 linked
version of TSVN?

I would recommend you revert all the files that have no changes and
contain this superfluous mergeinfo property prior to commit.

BOb

Re: After a merge some files are (erroneously?) shown as modifed

Author mikedixon
Full name Mike Dixon
Date 2009-02-25 12:50:03 PST
Message On 2/25/2009 12:23 PM, Bob Archer wrote:
> The merge problem created them on the files in the branch. I don't know
> why this happens. I have read the most of this was cleaned up in 1.5.5.
>
In 1.5.0-1.5.4 clients, when you do a repo-to-repo copy (and therefore,
also when you do a rename) it will generate an svn:mergeinfo property on
the affected file. Versions 1.5.5 and later are smarter about not
including the mergeinfo if it isn't needed.

-Mike

RE: After a merge some files are (erroneously?) shown as modifed

Author blackhole at collab dot net
Full name blackhole at collab dot net
Date 2009-02-25 12:34:56 PST
Message > My question, do these properties show on the files in the WC of trunk or
> not?
>

No, the files do not have any properties in trunk (except svn:mime-type). As I wrote, the file have never been modified after they were added to the repository.

Thanks.

Martin

RE: After a merge some files are (erroneously?) shown as modifed

Author pilotbob
Full name Bob Archer
Date 2009-02-25 12:23:47 PST
Message > I'm aware of this, but I don't understand why there are any property
> changes on these files. These files have never been merged. They were
> added to trunk, and copied several times to tags. And they were copied
to
> the current feature branch where I'm seeing the problem.

The merge problem created them on the files in the branch. I don't know
why this happens. I have read the most of this was cleaned up in 1.5.5.

My question, do these properties show on the files in the WC of trunk or
not?

> So, am I safe if I commit these files to the branch or could there be
any
> problems in the future?

There probably safe, but also if those files weren't change in trunk
then you can just revert them to. It's hard to say without actually
being able to look at your repo and see what is in trunk and branch etc.

BOb

RE: After a merge some files are (erroneously?) shown as modifed

Author blackhole at collab dot net
Full name blackhole at collab dot net
Date 2009-02-25 12:14:38 PST
Message >
> Property changes on a file are still considered changes. This is
> mergeinfo on the trunk that was probably created when some other branch
> was merged into it.
>


I'm aware of this, but I don't understand why there are any property changes on these files. These files have never been merged. They were added to trunk, and copied several times to tags. And they were copied to the current feature branch where I'm seeing the problem.

> Also, some of the older versions were a little verbose with mergeinfo
> properties so it may be that those on the branch are not actually
> needed. But, you really need to understand when this is the case before
> removing them.
>

So, am I safe if I commit these files to the branch or could there be any problems in the future?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Martin

RE: After a merge some files are (erroneously?) shown as modifed

Author pilotbob
Full name Bob Archer
Date 2009-02-25 09:00:18 PST
Message > As an example, I see lots of files in my working copy with the
following
> difference/modification:
>
> Property changes on: C:\Projects\MyProj​?ect-branchXY\libs​?SomeLib.dll
> ____________________​?___________________​_?__________________​__?_______
> Modified: svn:mergeinfo
> Merged /trunk/libs/SomeLib.​?dll:r2718-2814

Property changes on a file are still considered changes. This is
mergeinfo on the trunk that was probably created when some other branch
was merged into it.

Also, some of the older versions were a little verbose with mergeinfo
properties so it may be that those on the branch are not actually
needed. But, you really need to understand when this is the case before
removing them.

BOb

After a merge some files are (erroneously?) shown as modifed

Author blackhole at collab dot net
Full name blackhole at collab dot net
Date 2009-02-25 01:01:16 PST
Message (I already posted this on the svn-users list, but got no answer so far)

Hi, I have created a feature branch some time ago and now I want to update (sync) it with the changes made on trunk in the meantime.

Therefore I'm merging from trunk into my working copy (which is based on the feature branch). In the merge dialogs, I'm using the option "Merge a range of revisions" and I do not specify a revision range (as I want to merge all revisions since the branch was created).

After the merge some files in my working copy are show as modfied, even though they were not modified in trunk or in my branch since the branch was created.

As an example, I see lots of files in my working copy with the following difference/modification:

Property changes on: C:\Projects\MyProj​?ect-branchXY\libs​?SomeLib.dll
____________________​?___________________​_?__________________​__?_______
Modified: svn:mergeinfo
   Merged /trunk/libs/SomeLib.​?dll:r2718-2814


Why am I seeing this? Is this a bug, am I making a mistake or is this expected?
What is the correct/best way to proceed?


I tried this with TSVN 1.5.8 and also with todays daily build (1.5.99 build 15481) and see the same behaviour with both.

The server is running SVN 1.5.4.


Thanks a lot for your help
Martin
Messages per page: